Town of Mount Jackson

Town Council & Government

The people of Mount Jackson are served by a Mayor and Town Council form of government, elected to 4 year terms on a rotation so that elections are held every two years. The next election will be held May 7, 2014.

Town staff administer the Town Code and manage the business of the town and council.

The public are welcome to attend and comment at Town Council meetings, held every 2nd Tuesday at 7:30 PM at the Town of Mount Jackson Office, located at 5901 Main Street. Council members also serve on additional committees (see below). Liasons from the council also serve alongside residents on the Planning Commission and the Economic Development Authority. Residents are welcome to join the For a schedule of committee meetings and agendas or minutes, see the meetings and minutes page.

Mayor, Michael Koontz
The Mayor meets with the public before every Town Council meeting at his “Open Door Meeting” at Town Center, every 2nd Tuesday from noon – 1pm.
Town Council Members
Kay P. Whetzel ’14, Vice Mayor – 540-477-9520
Dennis L. Andrick ’16 – 540-325-1930
Ken Hackenbracht ’14 – 540-477-3269
Todd Holtzman ’14 – 540-477-3131
Donald I. Pifer ’16 – 540-477-3735
Rod Shepherd ’16 – 540-477-9734

Town Council Committees
Finance – Rod Shepherd, Chair
Ordinance – Todd Holtzman, Chair
Public Services – Ken Hackenbracht, Chair
Personnel – Donnie Pifer, Chair
Public Properties and Facilities – Dennis Andrick, Chair
Public Safety – Kay Whetzel, Chair

Town Staff
To reach the staff, call  (540) 477-2121 or email townoffice [at] or come by the Town Office Monday through Friday, from 8:00am to 4:45pm.
Town Manager- Kevin Fauber
Interim Town Manager – Charlie Moore
Finance Director/Treasurer – Neil Showalter
Town Clerk – Judy Fultz
Assistant Town Treasurer – Sharon Fadely
Administrative Assistant – Heather Taylor

Police Department -
mount jackson va policeCall 911 for emergencies.

Office number for other inquiries: 540-477-2242

Chief JD Fadley
Sgt. Jeff Sterner
Officer Robert Young
Officer Greg Foss
Officer Sean Sherfey
Auxillary Officer Daren Litten
Auxillary Officer Dawn Vann
Auxillary Officer David Vann

For contacts and details about the Town’s Water and Sewer service, see the Public Works page.

Current job opportunities with the Town of Mount Jackson are posted in our “news” section. Candidates should download and complete the Town Employment Application located below. NOTE: Job Applications for the Police Department are a separate application from the regular Town application. Call the town office at 540-477-2121 to pick up a Police Department Application.

Town of Mount Jackson Employment Application