Town of Mount Jackson

Meetings and Minutes

Residents are welcome to speak at or attend meetings of the Town Council, its committees and the Planning Commission or Economic Development Authority. A schedule of meetings can be viewed on the Mount Jackson Calendar. Meetings are held in the Council Chamber, in the Town Hall building at 5901 Main Street, unless otherwise noted.

To inquire about joining the Planning Commission or Economic Development Authority, call the Town Office at 540.477.2121.

For meeting minutes from 2015, 2014 and 2013, see the Archive Minutes page.

Town Council Agenda and Minutes
Council meets the second Tuesday of every month at 7:30pm in the Council Chamber at Town Hall.

Download Publication

Town Council Committees
Finance – Rod Shepherd, Chair
Ordinance – Dennis Andrick, Chair
Public Services – Ken Hackenbracht, Chair
Personnel – Donnie Pifer, Chair
Public Properties and Facilities – Whitney Miller, Chair
Public Safety – Roger Rudy, Chair

Focus Group Meeting Minutes.

Download Publication

Economic Development Authority
Meets on an ad hoc basis.

There are no publications to display categorized economic development 2016.

The mission of the Economic Development Authority (EDA) is to promote industry and develop trade by inducing entrepreneurs to locate, remain and expand in Mount Jackson and within the Commonwealth of Virginia. The EDA is authorized to issue bonds from the purpose of obtaining and constructing facilities. In addition, the EDA’s revolving loan fund exists to aid small-to-medium sized organizations create new permanent employment and expand existing business in Mount Jackson.

Rick Koontz, Chairman
Ken Hackenbracht
Steve Povlish
Mike Koontz
Joe Proctor
Rod Shepherd
Mike Jones

Planning Commission
Meets every 1st Monday at the Council Chamber at 7:00pm (except holidays).

Download Publication

The purpose of the Planning Commission is to maintain the growth and development of the Town of Mount Jackson by utilizing and prioritizing the Comprehensive Plan. This committee of volunteers guides the Town Council in their decision making keeping the distinctive character, history and sense of community intact.

Heather Diehl, Vice Chair
Ken Hackenbracht
Anita Miller
Larry Ambrose
Robert Whitehurst

Advisory Liasons

County Parks and Recreation – Rick Mumaw
Shentel – Rod Shepherd